Posted on

Wonderland and more recent writings

"Party Boat" by Sarah Anne Johnson. Courtesy of the collection of Allen Thomas Jr. / CAM Raleigh

“Party Boat” by Sarah Anne Johnson. Courtesy of the collection of Allen Thomas Jr. / CAM Raleigh

Busy times at the INDY lately, so busy I’ve neglected to blog. Some recent pieces:

* I reviewed Sarah Anne Johnson’s Wonderland, a provocative mid-career retrospective featuring deceptive documentary and scary clown sex at CAM Raleigh.

* I interviewed the legendary filmmaker John Waters about his one-man show “This Filthy World” and more.

* I ran a multi-part cover story on the 15th annual NC Comedy Arts Festival, which has grown from a local institution to a national pacesetter.

* I interviewed theater director Monet Marshall about Hands Up: 6 Playwrights, 6 Testaments, staged readings responding to police brutality in Durham.

* I reported on a summit about arts education and access for people with disabilities, a reporting area I hope to develop further.

* I assessed an active but stratified North Carolina literary scene in a year-in-review piece about local books.

* And I reviewed the U.S. premiere of Tommy Noonan and Clint Lutes’ Brother Brother, an athletic but vulnerable dance piece that still lingers in my mind.

If You Must

