Posted on

M.C. Escher at the North Carolina Museum of Art

illustration by Chris Williams and Skillet Gilmore

illustration by Chris Williams and Skillet Gilmore

I thought I was going to be an illustrator before I became a writer, and M.C. Escher was huge for me. Of course, I ceased to think about him much after high school and relegated him to a youthful passion. North Carolina Museum of Art’s blockbuster Escher exhibit, The Worlds of M.C. Escher: Nature, Science, and Imagination, was a blast from the past, but it also renewed my appreciation for Escher in the present. Check out my INDY cover story, which also features Chris Vitiello’s piece on the Leonardo da Vinci notebook exhibit ticketed with the Escher (hence the cover we cooked up above), here.

If You Must

